Slow-Cooker Saturday

I took advantage of the long weekend to dig out my slow-cooker and try a recipe I had been longing for – Juicy Pork Carnitas from Chatelaine.com.

The recipe did not disappoint and was SO easy that I plan to make this probably once a month from now on.

What I loved was after mixing the rub for the pork shoulder (I actually doubled the rub recipe) all I had to do is chop up the rest of the ingredients, turn on the slow-cooker to high, place everything into the slow-cooker and set the timer for 4 hours – seriously, THAT easy! After about 2 hours the aromas that filled my house were mouth-watering.  I used the last hour of the cooking time to prep some of my Pico de Gallo recipe – I sort of made it up as I went along and it went something like this:

  • 3 tomatoes (diced)
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 1.5 tbsp of minced jalapeno (remove seeds)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt to taste

Mix all of these ingredients up and cover; I put my pico de gallo in the fridge for about an hour and let all the flavours sink in.

I warmed up some small tortillas in the oven, chopped up some avocados and a bit of monterey jack cheese to top up the delicious dinner. After the pork was done, as the Chatelaine recipe calls for I shredded the pork and browned it up slightly in a pan before serving. If you are looking for an easy weekend meal full of flavour, I would highly recommend this recipe.

Image

Until next time…
Jess

Leave a Reply

